Skip to main content


The jurisdiction of the Office of Executive Inspector General for the Agencies of the Illinois Governor extends to the governor, the lieutenant governor, and all officers and employees of, and vendors and others doing business with, executive branch state agencies, except for those that fall under the jurisdiction of the attorney general, the secretary of state, the comptroller or the treasurer.

This jurisdiction encompasses, for example, the Illinois Department of Human Services, the Illinois Department of Corrections, and the Illinois Department of Transportation. The OEIG's jurisdiction also includes approximately 300 state boards and commissions, including for example, the Illinois Commerce Commission, the Illinois State Board of Education, and the Illinois State Police Merit Board. The OEIG's jurisdiction also extends to the nine state public universities, and the four regional transit boards (the Regional Transportation Authority, the Chicago Transit Authority, Metra, and Pace).

Certain complaints received by the OEIG may, as appropriate, require the involvement of other investigative or prosecutorial entities. Criminal matters, for example, may require the participation of, or referral to, other prosecuting or law enforcement authorities. In addition, the investigation of certain complaints may be referred to, or require the participation of, other inspectors general who serve specific public entities.